TrainingsMasterEconomicsCoursesInternational trade

Master EconomicsUE International trade

Content

The objectives of this module is to familiarize students with the basic theories of international trade and to expose them to the latest theoretical and empirical advances in the field. By doing so, students should develop a clearer sense of what constitutes a good research topic (especially in the field of international trade). The course should equip them with skills and knowledge useful to better understand the current debates surrounding trade policy.

Course outline : This course covers the most important theories of international trade and their applications. Each week, the rigorous presentation of theoretical contributions is accompanied by a comprehensive overview of the corresponding empirical validations. The first part of the module quickly reviews the neoclassical theories of trade in the simplest frameworks, and then extends their predictions to more recent and realistic settings. The second part covers models of monopolistic competition with homogeneous and heterogenous firms. It also defines a unifying theoretical framework that can encompass different market structures and is often used for quantitative analysis. The third and last of part of the module applies the theoretical and empirical tools used in the first two parts to the study of three research topics that have recently received strong attention in the field.

  • Part I : Neoclassical trade models

Ricardian models

Factor proportions theories

  • Part II : Monopolistic competition and firms

Monopolistic competition with homogeneous firms

Monopolistic competition with heterogeneous firms

Gravity models and gains from trade

  • Part III : Selected topics in international trade

Trade and labour markets

Trade policy

Global supply chains and multinationals

Professional skills

By the end of the course, students should be able to :

  • Understand how trade and specialization affect welfare ;
  • Identify the ingredients of the main theoretical models of international trade ;
  • Derive analytically the gains from trade under different market structures ;
  • Appreciate the main channels whereby trade influences labour markets ;
  • Understand the economic incentives and consequences of trade policy ;
  • Analyse the ways firms can participate in international markets.

Language used

Main language used by this course: Anglais.

Bibliography

The reading material consists of academic papers (review articles and research paper, published and unpublished) and various notes. These will be posted on AMeTICE before the relevant lecture. The full list of readings (marked as ‘essential’ or ‘supplementary’) will be made available in Week 1. Parts of the material is covered in the following textbook :

  • Feenstra, R.C. (2016), Advanced International Trade : Theory and Evidence, Second Edition.

Fundamental prerequisites

Intermediate microeconomics and econometrics (M1 level). Familiarity with STATA (or MATLAB).

Recommended prerequisites

International trade at undergraduate or M1 level.

Structure and organisation

The course is organized in 8 weekly lectures of 3 hours each. The relevant slides will be available on AMeTICE right after the lecture. The reading materials will be posted on AMeTICE before the lecture.

Assessment is composed of :

  • Report on a research paper chosen from a list to be distributed in Week 1 and oral exam (15 minutes) on the report and on the contents of the module (2/3 of final grade) ;
  • Weekly comments on papers that are being taken up in class (list to be distributed in Week 1). These will have to be e-mailed to me before the class. They should briefly summarize the paper and provide one or two brief insights in the form of a comment (favourable or critical) or a question about the paper. Comments should not be more than one-page long. Examples will be posted on AMeTICE (1/6 of final grade) ;
  • Two problem sets (1/6 of final grade).

Volume of teachings

  • Lectures: 24 hours

The trainings which use this course

AccueilMasterÉconomieEnseignementsCommerce international

Master ÉconomieUE Commerce international

Contenu

Les objectifs de ce module sont de familiariser les étudiants avec les principales théories du commerce international et de les introduire aux dernières avancées théoriques et empiriques dans le domaine. À la fin du cours, les étudiants devraient avoir une idée plus claire de ce qui constitue un bon sujet de recherche (surtout dans le domaine du commerce international). Le cours devrait les doter de compétences et de connaissances utiles pour mieux comprendre les enjeux actuels entourant la politique commerciale.

Plan du cours détaillé : ce cours traite les théories les plus importantes du commerce international et leurs applications. Chaque semaine, la présentation rigoureuse des contributions théoriques s'accompagne d'un aperçu complet des validations empiriques correspondantes. La première partie du module passe en revue les théories néoclassiques du commerce dans les cadres les plus simples, puis étend leurs prédictions à des modèles plus récents et réalistes. La deuxième partie étudie les modèles de concurrence monopolistique avec des entreprises homogènes et hétérogènes. Il définit également un cadre théorique unificateur qui peut englober différentes structures de marché et qui est souvent utilisé pour des analyses quantitatives. La troisième et dernière partie du module applique les outils théoriques et empiriques utilisés dans les deux premières parties à l'étude de trois sujets de recherche qui ont récemment reçu une forte attention par les chercheurs et chercheuses en commerce internationale.

  • Partie I : Modèles néoclassiques de commerce international

Modèle de Ricardo

Théories Heckscher-Ohlin

  • Partie II : Modèles en concurrence monopolistique et rôle des firmes

Concurrence monopolistique avec firmes homogènes

Concurrence monopolistique avec firmes hétérogènes

Modèles de gravité et gains à l’échange

  • Partie III : Sujets de recherche dans le domaine du commerce international

Commerce international et marché du travail

Politiques commerciales

Chaînes internationales de la valeur et firmes multinationales

Compétences visées

À la fin du cours, les étudiants devraient être capables de :

  • Comprendre comment le commerce et la spécialisation affectent le bien-être ;
  • Identifier les ingrédients des principaux modèles théoriques du commerce international ;
  • Déduire analytiquement les gains à l’échange sous différentes structures des marchés ;
  • Apprécier les principaux canaux par lesquels le commerce façonne le marché du travail ;
  • Comprendre les motivations et les conséquences économiques de la politique commerciale ;
  • Analyser les façons dont les firmes participent aux marchés internationaux.

Langue utilisée

Langue principale utilisée par cet enseignement : Anglais.

Bibliographie

Le matériel de support pour ce cours se compose de papiers académiques (publiés et non publiés) et de diverses notes. Ceux-ci seront affichés sur AMeTICE avant la séance. La liste complète des lectures (marquées « essentielles » ou « supplémentaires ») sera disponible dans la semaine 1. Des parties du matériel sont couvertes dans le manuel suivant :

  • Feenstra, R.C. (2016), Advanced International Trade : Theory and Evidence, Second Edition.

Pré-requis obligatoires

Microéconomie et économétrie intermédiaires (niveau M1 ou équivalent). Familiarité avec STATA (ou MATLAB).

Pré-requis recommandés

Commerce international au niveau L3 ou M1.

Modalités d'organisation

Le cours est organisé en 8 séances hebdomadaires de 3 heures chacune. Les diapositives pour chaque semaine seront disponibles sur AMeTICE juste après la séance. Les documents de lecture seront disponibles sur AMeTICE avant la séance.

L'évaluation est composée de :

  • Rapport sur un papier de recherche choisi parmi une liste à distribuer dans la semaine 1 et un examen oral (15 minutes) sur le rapport et sur le contenu du cours (2/3 de la note finale) ;
  • Commentaires hebdomadaires sur les papiers qui sont repris en classe (liste à distribuer dans la semaine 1). Ceux-ci devront être envoyés par courriel avant la séance. Ils doivent résumer brièvement le papier et fournir un ou deux aperçus brefs sous la forme d'un commentaire (favorable ou critique) ou d'une question sur le papier. Les commentaires ne doivent pas dépasser une page. Des exemples seront affichés sur AMeTICE (1/6 de la note finale) ;
  • Deux problèmes sets (1/6 de la note finale).

Volume des enseignements

  • Cours magistraux : 24 heures

Les formations qui utilisent cet enseignement